Shashank

Trouble with the Aladdin Garage door opener

My Aladdin Garage Door Opener

Last year I bought a new garage door opener from Costco to replace the old one. I liked that I could connect the new garage door opener to the internet and open/close the door via Google Assistant. Also particularly appreciated that we could assert that the door was closed when we had driven a couple of miles away from the house.

The installation was simple enough, the provided instructions were adequate. Took me better part of an afternoon to complete it. And it worked great for a couple of months.

The Problem

Suddenly, the door started to close only half way. The console showed 2 purple lights. After the halfway close, I had to press the button again to lift the door, and stop it immediately. Press the button a 3rd time and then it would close completely. So 3 button pushes in place of one. Less than ideal.

Contacting the support department, I got a replacement part. That did not seem to fix anything.

Stay tuned to see if we continue to live this way, or if I can eventually fix this annoyance.